20 Comments
author

For me: My editor sent me back my Unruly Figures manuscript! *Cue nervous excitement* So my plan is to get through editing five chapters this week.

Expand full comment
Jan 17, 2023Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

!!!

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

Personalized Angry Valentines for bitter friends, a couple of writing prompts/drills, and scenes, scenes, scenes. I also need to stop being such a chicken and to record a thing for work, so hopefully this will stare at me accusingly enough to actually do it.

Expand full comment
author

Wait, tell us more about these Personalized Angry Valentines!

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

Dead flowers for dead hearts! And one that will be wrecked by a toddler before the card is even opened. Lemme know if you want one; I’ll write ya a couplet.

Expand full comment
author

This sounds incredible. I would love one!

Expand full comment

You’re on! Just let me know where to send it. And level of drama, from 1 to 5.

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

A little bit of everything TBH. Reaching out to connections, sending pitches, podcast editing & closing admin loops related to writing.

Expand full comment
author

That’s great! Good luck!

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

I'm editing my book A BEGINNER'S GUIDE TO TIME TRAVEL. It was a NaNoWriMo challenge. I got the 50,000 words in the month, but didn't think it was enough, so kept on writing. I brought it in at 81,000. With my editing, I'm up to 87,000. I've been putting it up on my Substack page just for the heck of it. It's a fantasy (obviously) and my first attempt at it because I usually write historical stuff.

Expand full comment
author

This sounds so cool! And you’re serializing it on Substack?

Expand full comment

Yes. It's on my page under NaNoWriMo. I put up two pieces a week. It's not all edited because I was putting it up before I was finished. But I'm almost caught up and so it should read better--I mean none of the little typos and shit. And it's got a great twist! Take a look

Expand full comment
Jan 17, 2023Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

I’m going to work on a short story I started last year. A good friend gave me some excellent feedback which I need to revisit and incorporate.

Expand full comment
author

That’s great! Good luck with revisions!

Expand full comment
Jan 17, 2023Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

I love this! I'm editing my next book, based on feedback from my Substack and Beta readers. Hoping to get through half of it by EOW.

Expand full comment
author

That’s great! Good for you!

Expand full comment

We're going on vacation next week, so I'm spending the next few days tying up loose ends; a few shorter pieces for next Weds. & Friday, polishing up an interview I did over the holidays, etc.

Expand full comment
author

Nice! Best of luck!

Expand full comment