25 Comments
Feb 17, 2023Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

Bird By Bird – Anne Lamott

On Writing – Stephen King

The Elements of Style – Strunk and White (the Maira Kalman illustrated edition is my personal favorite of this)

Expand full comment
author

On Writing and the Elements of Style are a couple of my favorites too. I didn't realize there was a new illustrated edition--checking that out now.

Expand full comment
Feb 17, 2023Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

oh and almost forgot maybe one of the most important writing books for me career-wise...

Comedy Writing Secrets by Mel Helitzer!

Expand full comment
Feb 17, 2023Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

A Horse at Night by Amina Cain

To Write as if Already Dead by Kate Zambreno

Meander, Spiral, Explode by Jane Alison

Expand full comment
author

Oooh, I've never read any of these! I'll have to check them out. Thank you.

Expand full comment
Feb 17, 2023Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

Seconded: Meander, Spiral, Explode - Jane Alison

On Writing - Samuel R Delany. I love Stephen King’s version but this is better.

Steering the Craft - Ursula Le Guin

Story - Robert McKee

Expand full comment
author

I've read Robert McKee's before, I really enjoyed it. I have Steering the Craft on my shelf--maybe that will be my next read!

Expand full comment

I liked McKee too. I found Story to fascinating, but not very practical. Or, maybe there were a lot of lessons I just missed because I kept thinking about Adaptation. I’m not sure. But I remember liking the book.

Expand full comment

Speaking of to be read: Enemies of Promise - Cyril Connolly / The Screenwriter's Bible -Trottier. I've been so hectic with work (not writing boo hoo) that I haven't had the time to read these two yet although they have been sitting on my shelf for some months now.

Expand full comment

The Art & Business of Online Writing by Nicolas Cole

Expand full comment
author

Oooh, I like that this is geared specifically to online writing! How cool!

Expand full comment

The phrase “actionable takeaway” is usually one best left unsaid, but this book really is full of them.

Expand full comment
Feb 17, 2023Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

Many of my favorites are already listed! Adding a few more:

To Show and To Tell by Philip Lopate

Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg

Dreyer's English by Benjamin Dreyer

Expand full comment
author

I've heard great things about Writing Down the Bones, but I've never taken time to read it! Adding it to my list now.

Expand full comment
Feb 17, 2023Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

Haruki Murakami's What I Talk About When I Talk About Running + Novelist as a Vocation! For the more business-y side, Courtney Maum's Before and After the Book Deal.

Expand full comment
author

I just finished Before and After the Book Deal--fittingly, just after signing my book deal. It's great!

Expand full comment
Feb 17, 2023Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

Anything by Helen Sword!

Expand full comment
author

I've heard great things about Helen Sword, but I haven't checked her work out yet.

Expand full comment
Feb 17, 2023Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

You definitely should :)

Expand full comment
Feb 17, 2023Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

I read a really good book on writing recently called "Writing Without BS" by Josh Bernoff. While the book focuses mostly on cutting BS out of business writing, that book has made me a lot more focused on saying what I mean, among other things.

Expand full comment
author

I think I've heard of this one, but it never occurred to me that it could be applied to creative writing. Thanks!

Expand full comment

I've always found Steven Pressfield's "The War Of Art" a good kick in the pants, as a refresher now and again. "Nobody Wants to Read Your Sh*t" is also good. It's blunt (in a non-aggressive way, he's not the David Goggins of writing advice) but it's also really boiled down and clear. I like that about him.

And - it's not writing advice as such, but Jenny Odell's "How To Do Nothing" really moved the furniture around in my brain regarding being kind enough to yourself to get your creative work done, and to recognise social media for the chaotic, anxiety-and-negativity-riddled mess that it is. That's the book that finally stopped me thinking I wasn't "doing social media right" - and once I'd got over that insecurity, I could go back in and find a way to use it that felt a lot better (and be a bit smarter about helping folk discover my work). So - that one, for sure.

And the classic, already mentioned by other folk here, Stephen King's "On Writing" - especially for the timeless and immensely wise advice: "write with the door closed, edit with the door open", ie. keep both separate, and when you need to compose your writing, do everything you can to shut the wider world up. Let yourself hear your own thoughts, otherwise you're doomed.

Expand full comment

Seth Godin's "The Practice". For all creatives. Not just writers.

Expand full comment

Lots of great books here. One book I’d add is Save the Cat. If you’re looking for an accessible break down of story archetypes beat by beat, Save the Cat is great. It’s written for screenwriters, but it’s applicable to all storytellers. It’s also a really quick read.

Expand full comment